Bayley dominates Draycott Para Open

Paralympic champion Will Bayley dominated the Draycott Para Open today - taking the class 7 singles, combining with Martin Perry to win the open standing doubles and completing a clean sweep in his three events by defeating Perry 3-0 to win the open standing singles.

Men’s class 1 Paralympic champion Rob Davies also started his season in style by winning all his three matches in the round robin class 1-2 singles. The Welshman had to settle for runners-up spot in the open wheelchair doubles after he and Noel Thomas lost the decisive match to Dan Bullen and Lucie Bouron and after a great fight back from 0-2 to beat Bouron in the semi-finals of the open wheelchair singles Davies was defeated 3-1 by class 5 player Bullen in the final.

Perry secured victory in the round robin class 6 singles with a 3-1 win against fellow GB Pathway squad member Fliss Pickard and Bullen won the class 3-5 singles with a 3-1 win against Bouron in the final. Ryan Henry took the round robin class 8 event after winning all three of his matches and Adam Thompson took the round robin class 11 singles.

Craig Allen’s 3-2 victory over Shae Thakker proved to be the decisive result in the round robin class 9-10 singles but Thakker won the Junior standing singles, beating Alex Bland 3-0 in the final.

Final Results
Class 1-2 Singles RR
Winner: Rob Davies
Runner-up: Oye Jemiyo

Class 3-5 Singles
Final: Daniel Bullen beat Lucie Bouron 3-1

Class 6 Singles RR
Winner: Martin Perry
Runner-up: Fliss Pickard

Class 7 Singles
Final: Will Bayley beat Alex Bland 3-0

Class 8 Singles RR
Winner: Ryan Henry
Runner-up: Nick Dibben

Class 9-10 Singles RR
Winner: Craig Allen
Runner-up: Shae Thakker

Class 11 Singles RR
Winner: Adam Thompson
Runner-up: Peter Millar

Junior Standing Singles
Final: Shae Thakker beat Alex Bland 3-0

Open Standing Doubles
Final: Will Bayley/Martin Perry beat Craig Allen/Tam Eastwood 3-0

Open Wheelchair Doubles RR
Winners: Lucie Bouron/Dan Bullen
Runners-up: Rob Davies/Noel Thomas

Open Standing Singles A
Final: Will Bayley beat Martin Perry 3-0

Open Standing Singles B
Final: Tamar Packford beat Nick Dibben 3-1

Open Standing Singles C
Final: Peter Millar beat Jaiden Caldeira 3-0

Open Wheelchair Singles A
Final: Dan Bullen beat Rob Davies 3-1

Open Wheelchair Singles B/C RR
Winner: Raul Popat
Runner-up: Paul Ledward